The 1958 BC Men's Team
Inducted 2008
These 15 players provided one of the greatest moments in BC sporting history and a historic victory for rugby in our province.
The March, 1958, tour by the Australian Wallabies was a remarkable one for BC Rugby as it was the first time British Columbia had defeated a national team from another country.
The Wallabies, on their way back to Australia after touring the United Kingdom, played three games in British Columbia - two against the British Columbia Representatives and one against U.B.C.
The momentous victory over the powerful Wallabies occurred on the evening of March 15, 1958 in a thriller under the lights in front of a crowd of 6,643 at Empire Stadium in Vancouver.
Coached by Ken Banks and captained by Buzz Moore, the BC Men built up an 8-0 lead by the half on a try by the savvy veteran Ray Calton, and converted by Neal Henderson. In the second half, it was the speedy winger George Puil who scored BC's second try. Another of Ted Hunt's legendary kicks provided the additional three points needed to defeat the Australian Wallabies by a score of 11-8.
A team rich with experience, committed to defence and with some of the nation's finest athletes in the day, BC Rugby is proud to induct to the Hall of Fame, the 1958 BC Men's team that beat the Australian Wallabies.
Back: Peter Grantham, John Newton, George Sainas.
Middle: Gerald McGavin, Ray Calton, Peter Clarke, Neal Henderson, Bill Claridge, George Puil
Front: Greig Bjarnason, Ted Hunt, Jack Whitty, Buzz Moore, Tom Christie, Norm Blake
HOME     •     ABOUT     •     INDUCTEES     •     NOMINATE